Something went wrong loading this image.


Monday, July 01, 2013

Our Summer Scholarship Recipients Have Been Announced!

Congratulations to the following NSHSS members selected for 2013 scholarships. Remaining scholarship winners will be posted as they are announced in upcoming newsletters. Visit for guidelines on the scholarships available for the 2014-2015 academic year. These will begin opening in December online in the member dashboard - you may wish to start gathering the information you will need: personal statement about your goals and accomplishments, and a resume of awards, honors, leadership activities, service activities, clubs, extracurricular activities. Be thinking of an educator to provide a recommendation for you, and how to request your transcript. Also, review the scholarship application tips that have been gathered from a variety of scholarship recipients and scholarship providers: Scholarship Application Tips. 

Abercrombie & Fitch Global Diversity & Leadership Awards
Tyler Dodson, Claysburg, PA, Claysburg Kimmel High School
Radiylon Mina, Monterey, CA, Monte Vista Christian School
Loren Morris, Schertz, TX, Samuel Clemons High School
Max Ororbia, Lewisburg, PA, Lewisburg Area High School
Emma Phillips, San Luis Obispo, CA, San Luis Obispo High School
Ebo Quansah, Marlton, NJ, Cherokee High School
Nishita Varde, Jacksonville, FL, Paxon School for Advanced Studies
Andrew Wang, Ellicott City, MD, Mount Hebron High School
Matthew Zackshewski, Centreville, VA, Westfield High School 

Envision College Scholars
Dae Sun Kang, Cumming, GA,
Ashley Rankin, Tyler, TX, Robert E Lee High School

Office of Naval Research STEM Scholar Awards
$5,000 Recipients
Rachel Adenekan, Missouri City, TX, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cameron Brand, Avondale, PA, George Washington University
Briana Castillo, Lozano, TX, University of Texas Pan American
Jimmy He, Madison, WI, Stanford University
Brandon Ortiz, East Stroudsburg, PA, Carnegie Mellon University
Sarah Schrader, Bowling Green, KY, Western Kentucky University

$2,500 Recipients
Brandon Bachman, Haines, AK, University of Alaska Anchorage
Ton La, Jr., Houston, TX, University of Houston
Nirosah Perera, Mableton, GA, Harvard University
Zain Siddiqui, Easton, PA, Rutgers University

$1,000 Recipients
Isaiah Aklilu, Richmond, TX, University of Texas at Austin
Sara Assef, Prospect, KY, University of Kentucky
Rezia Era Braza, Bowie, MD, Morgan State University
Nicco Cerda, Riverdale, GA, Morehouse College
Steven Chen, Carmel, IN, Dartmouth College
Kelly O'Neill, Lake Oswego, OR, University of Oregon
Deborah Osakue, Missouri City, TX, University of Pittsburgh
Amaris Rodgers, Toledo, OH, University of Dayton
Craig Schmidt, Williamsville, NY, Northeastern University
Saradadevi Thanikachalam, Tucson, AZ, University of Arizona

Zinch Scholarship for NSHSS Members Who Have Made a Difference in their Community
Neha Gupta, Yardley, PA, 
Pennsbury High School