Something went wrong loading this image.

NSHSS Holiday Member Event

On December 2, 2017, more than 1,500 members and their families joined to be honored, network with like-minded high school scholars, and learn about a variety of opportunities at the 2017 NSHSS Member Holiday Event, hosted at the Cobb Galleria Centre in Atlanta, GA.

Attendees and families traveled from afar (from across the U.S. and from Mexico, the Philippines, and Chile) and participated in a full day filled with presentations, interactive workshops, a college fair featuring 29 exhibiting universities and organizations, and, of course, the honor ceremony recognizing all new Members for their outstanding academic achievements.



1,500 Members and guests in attendance from 35 states and 4 countries

Governor Nathan Deal declared December 2, 2017, National Society of High School Scholars Day in the State of Georgia.

Keynote Speaker: Greg Goff, President and CEO, Andeavor

Performance by Infinite Harmony, A capella singing group from Georgia Institute of Technology.

4 Workshops:

  • CIA Student Opportunities Workshop
  • University Panel
  • NSHSS Chapter Development Workshop
  • Princeton Review, You Can Get Into Your Dream School

6 Scholarships presented - congratulations scholarship winners!

  • Tiffani Alexander, Murfreesboro, TN
    Alexander Academy, Mercer University
    Claes Nobel Legacy Award

  • Shareen El Naga, Raleigh, NC
    William G. Enloe High School, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    Claes Nobel Women of Tomorrow Leadership Award

  • Autumn Griffin, Atlanta, GA
    Benjamin E. Mays High School, Albany State University
    Di Yerbury International Scholar Award

  • Eric Li, Manvel, TX
    Glenda Dawson High School
    Robert Sheppard Leadership Award

  • Jordan Watt, Kennesaw, GA
    North Cobb High School
    National Scholar Award

NSHSS Claes Nobel Educator of the Year:

  • Joyce Kim, English teacher, Prospect High School, Mount Prospect, IL

Top Educators of the year 2017:
Learn more about these outstanding educators

  • Thelvie Cullins, Jr, Talented and Gifted Magnet School, Dallas, TX

  • Kelly Eddy, Winston Churchill High School, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Bob Fenster, Hillsborough High School, Hillsborough, NJ
  • Mckenzie Lueders, Dodge City High School, Dodge City, KS

  • Jo-Ann McCauley, Wesleyan School, Norcross, GA

  • Rebecca Nelson, Oswego East High School, Oswego, IL

  • Cate Praggastis, East High School, Salt Lake City, UT

  • Tad Sours, Haas Hall Academy, Fayetteville, AR

  • Christopher Wendelin, Amos Alonzo Stagg High School, Palos Hills, IL

Claes Nobel World Betterment Award 2017:
Congratulations to Pharrell Williams, American singer, songwriter, record producer, film producer, philanthropist.

Main Sponsors

Other Sponsors

Brescia University College, Central Intelligence Agency, Claflin University, Duke Kunshan University, EF Language Centers, Emmanuel College, Fisk University, Fort Valley State University, Florida Gulf Coast University, Florida State University, Georgia State University, Guilford College, Louisiana State University, Miami University, New York University, Oakland University, Oglethorpe University, Outward Bound Costa Rica, Seton Hall University, The Princeton Review, U.S. Department of State, U.S. Naval Academy, UNCF Koch Scholars Program, University of Cincinnati, University of Tennessee, University of West Georgia, Vanderbilt University, Youth Entrepreneurs